Dracula Clothing/Corsets Review: Steampunk Tesla

I have been a corset lover ever since I was twelve years old.  I wanted to have a teeny tiny wasp waist, but alas corsets were too expensive for a twelve year old- not to mention I had no power then to buy one.  So I tried making some, but alas they all epically failed, and I had a straight body still! Sigh, so sad growing up.  Anyways, when I was 15 years old, I purchased my very first “real” corset from Dracula Clothing.  I had several cheap, not-so-real corsets from eBay, but I really needed smaller than size a Small corset (which only closes to 24 inches by the way).  I plan to write a review for the other Dracula corsets eventually as they still carry those particular styles, but for now I would like to review my most recent purchase from them.
I bought the Steampunk Tesla Underbust Corset here: http://draculaclothing.com/steampunk-tesla-corset-p-1660.html , which was a very affordable price for a corset with steel boning.

IMG_0034
As sort of a petite person, (I stand 5’3½) buying premade corsets can be a hit or miss, as they can be cut too long for the body.  Ok…not to mention this one has the shoulder sling things… which are like an epic no no for short gals.  The Tesla corset worked out well for me.  The shoulders have 3 settings, so you can adjust it to the comfort and length you need.  Unfortunately, I had to put it on the shortest setting, so I don’t think it will work for anyone shorter than 5’2 unless they have a longer torso.  I found the length very comfortable; it did not feel like it was a near overbust for me.

IMG_0032

IMG_0987

The spiral steel boning gives great shape and support, and there are 12 of those in this corset (if I can count 😉 ).  However, the busk on this corset isn’t the most rigid, which means you can move around a little bit better.  The fabric is lovely on the outside.  It is brown and black vertical stripes with the cutest faux leather pocket!  However, the inside of this corset is not lined with their usual cotton, so I do not recommend wearing this without a shirt underneath.

IMG_0031

While I don’t get any poking or pinching in this, I do not recommend wearing it in very warm weather, as it can get quite hot.  This corset is also not for epic tight lacing, I can’t close it even though it’s a size 20 (which I normally CAN close).

Overall, I love this corset.  It really captures the steampunkesq while still being fashionable in modern day.  It is affordable, comfortable and will work for the upper end of petite figures.

One thought on “Dracula Clothing/Corsets Review: Steampunk Tesla

  1. Pingback: Fashion Corset shop increases steampunk line | Steampunk Journal

Leave a comment